Oh snap! You're watching Rich TVX News Network! The source of raw, breaking news.

How to Write a Memoir in 9 Simple Steps!

Share it with your friends Like

Thanks! Share it with your friends!

Close

Oh snap! You're watching Rich TVX News Network! The source of raw, breaking news.

Do you want to write your story? Whether you have a tale of growth that could inspire others, a compelling personal journey, or you simply want to write your story for yourself or your family as a means of documenting it, the memoir is the perfect form for you! In this video, we’ll talk about what a memoir is, the steps to write it, and some things that you should consider as you research and draft your memoir.

TIMESTAMPS:
0:00 – Intro
1:35 – Know your goals and audience
3:11 – Write a proposal
4:25 – Interview yourself
5:09 – Research
6:22 – Find your theme
6:53 – Find the key moments
7:56 – Start in the right place
8:45 – Hone your detail and dialogue
10:10 – Avoid common pitfalls

Writing a Book Proposal: https://blog.reedsy.com/how-to-write-a-book-proposal/
How to Publish a Non-Fiction Book: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dwv8TVcUYxk&t=123s

FIND REEDSY HERE:
Blog: https://blog.reedsy.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/wearereedsy/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ReedsyHQ
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/reedsy_hq/

RESOURCES:
Book Editor: https://reedsy.com/write-a-book
Reedsy Discovery [indie book reviews]: https://reedsy.com/discovery
Webinars: https://blog.reedsy.com/live/
Bestseller Podcast: https://blog.reedsy.com/podcast/
Prompts & Writing Contest: https://blog.reedsy.com/creative-writing-prompts/
Plot Generator: https://blog.reedsy.com/plot-generator/
Character Name Generator: https://blog.reedsy.com/character-name-generator/
Pen Name Generator: https://blog.reedsy.com/pen-name-generator/
Book Title Generator: https://blog.reedsy.com/book-title-generator/
Writing Exercises: https://blog.reedsy.com/writing-exercises/
Writing Contest Directory: https://blog.reedsy.com/writing-contests/
Literary Magazine Directory: https://blog.reedsy.com/literary-magazines/
ePub to MOBI Converter: https://blog.reedsy.com/epub-to-mobi-converter/
Reedsy Learning [free courses]: https://blog.reedsy.com/learning/